Dancing the Warpath to Happiness

Doesn’t that seem oxymoronic–warpath and happiness?  Or at least ironic.

But Pema Chodron got me thinking when she said:

“Rejoicing in ordinary things is not sentimental or trite.  It actually takes guts.  Each time we drop our complaints and allow everyday good fortune to inspire us, we enter the warrior’s world.” (Thanks for the head’s up, Angie. www.amagicd.blogspot.com)

When I thought more about those wise, brave words, I realized again how militant we have to be to choose happiness.  Or generosity or positivity.  And joy, definitely joy.

So many obstacles and obstructionists cross your path, vying to wrestle your positive attitude from you.  Especially if you’re sensitive, there’s a whole lotta ugly out there, or even just boring, petty, thoughtless, cynical.    

When I’m writing these posts, and wearing my Santa Hat during the holidays, and aiming to beam light out into the world year-round, I often do feel so challenged. Including by the saboteurs who dismiss as superficial, unimportant or sappy the effort to be positive or joyful.

I need to remember gifted dancer-choreographer Robert Battle’s reminder to us dancers in his class years ago.  He insisted that you have to fight for your dancing, for the vision you’re trying to realize. 

I’ve remembered this so often during class and rehearsal, as I feel my energy dwindle, as my breath shortens, my sweat drenches, and my heart pounds.  I lose focus or my mind and body slip out of sync.  HOLD ON! DON’T GIVE UP! TRY AGAIN! I need to claw and claw myself back to that vision. To the dream. Keep reaching for it, no matter what.

Same for life.  If we hear cynicism, experience stinginess or witness tragedy, we just cannot be lulled or manipulated into feeding that energy with more of same.  NO.  That’s when it’s even more crucial to bring out your big firepower of art, creativity, laughter, generosity, joy, and yes, love.

So, the next time we’re discouraged by meanness or hurt by thoughtlessness, we know what to do.  We get up and dance.

This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dancing the Warpath to Happiness

  1. BeWithUs says:

    Great thinking, my friend! Keep it up and keep dancing! Cheers~ 😀

  2. SirenaTales says:

    Thank you for the love :). So nice to have you here. Have a terrific week!

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

