My hair smells like pumpkin bread–Recipe Included…

….Included for the yummy pumpkin bread, that is.  (But baking the bread may result in the scented hair :)). Yes, indeedy, once autumn rolls in on a carpet of jewel-toned leaves, I seem to bake and cook pumpkin and butternut squash recipes non-stop.  We just cannot get enough.

One hands-down favorite is for luscious pumpkin bread.  It’s moist, rich, complex–and easy to make.  When our friend C gave us some to taste many years ago, I had to have the recipe.

I cannot guess how many loaves I’ve baked over the years, including mini-sized ones that make lovely little gifts.  And baking the bread makes the house smell heavenly–rich and spiced.

IMG_0780

The recipe is easy to follow and to double.  The loaves freeze perfectly–if there’s any left over to freeze:

Pumpkin Bread (Adapted from recipe from The Gables Inn, Lenox, MA)

1 cup pumpkin

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar, lightly packed

1/2 cup vegetable oil (I’ve used olive oil in a pinch–still came out tasty)

1/3 cup water

2 eggs

1 3/4 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1/2 teaspoon EACH of cinnamon and nutmeg*

1/4 teaspoon ginger*

*(I’ve sometimes used ground clove instead of the ginger, or improvised some combination of these sweet type spices to total 1 1/4 teaspoons)

1.  Preheat oven to 350-degrees F.

2. Grease and flour the bottom of a loaf pan (I use 8 x 1/2″ or 9″ x 4″).

3. In a large bowl, beat for one minute the pumpkin, sugars, oil, water and eggs.

4. Add remaining ingredients and mix till moistened.

5. Pour batter into pan and bake for 60-75 minutes (toothpick inserted into center of loaf should come out clean.  My highly temperamental oven often does not bake the loaves in the time frame mentioned so I use the toothpick testing method).

Other notes: when I double this recipe, it yields one large loaf and 3 mini loaves (mine are about 5 3/4″ x 3 1/4″).  Again, my oven is temperamental so I start checking the mini loaves after about 40 minutes of baking and keep checking till they’re done.  The original recipe calls solely for granulated sugar, but I like the depth that some brown sugar adds–you decide.

ENJOY….

This entry was posted in Cooking/Food, Creativity, Inspiration, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My hair smells like pumpkin bread–Recipe Included…

  1. Alia says:

    This sounds delicious!

  2. SirenaTales says:

    Reblogged this on Sirena Tales and commented:

    Happy November! As I am baking a double batch of pumpkin bread right now, I thought I would reblog. In case anyone would like the recipe and/or the aromatic hair :)…or to read about them. xo

  3. kanzensakura says:

    You know you have done seriously good cooking when the aroma wraps around you like that – especially those wonderful spicy scents.

  4. F.G.M. says:

    Et en plus tu es une cuisinière? La danse, la poésie, et la cuisine (un art TRES important) – alors là, CHAPEAU comme on dit 🙂
    Merci encore, merci toujours…

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

