Dancing Transcendence

2Z0Q9087-LToday, I danced.  Yes, I left the house at 7:15 a.m. and drove two hours to take class.  And two hours back again.

Crazy?  Perhaps.  Jubilant? You bet.

I’ve written and spoken about this so many times, but it bears repeating.  If only to myself: JOY MATTERS.  Joy needs to be cultivated! And dancing brings me joy.

I am in one of my dreaded drought periods when the classes I love go on break, and the company rehearsals are on hold.  I can feel my soul’s mouth parched–thirsting for the essential liquid that brings me alive.

So, when I hear about a class that sounds good, my mind and heart immediately and relentlessly zero in on how to make it happen. Can I do it? Can I get there? Can I make the arrangements on the home front?  Can my body do the movement when I am not in top shape?

Why do I even ask, doubt?  Everything inside me is clamoring: yes! yes! yes!

As so often happens, I didn’t sleep well last night partly due to the fact that I’ve gotten badly lost when I’ve trekked to this faraway place for class.  So, at 3:40 a.m., as I lay awake, I wondered if my body and mind would be sufficiently rested to be able to dance as athletically as we do.  I got a late start, I got lost (again) and was hustling to get there on time. Asking myself whether this is worth it, the constant pushing, driving, reaching….

But when I entered the studio, all of that fell away.  This is home, baby, home.

When the music came on and we started to move, I was back in that glistening, wondrous place that I hope you’re familiar with.  Flow.  Optimal experience.  TRANSCENDENCE.

There’s just you and what you’re wholly focused on, challenged by, enjoying, at one with. Riding and riding that wave.  For me: gloriously dancing with the dance.  The poor night’s sleep, getting lost, what I need to do for the rest of the day all fade as my eyes meet the shining eyes of dance.

Go bigger! Dig deeper! Make it beautiful! See the space! Release!  Suspend! Sense the other dancers! Push it! Shake it off and try again!  Breathe! Enjoy!

When I got back in the car to head home, sweaty, fatigued, exhilarated, I shook my head yet again.  Wondering why I ever hesitated to come here today.  To dance: my passion, my reverence, my joy.  And also my prayer, aimed at feeding affirmatively the universe’s own wave of joy, one which starts with the droplets contributed by each of us.

Reminding me of Rumi’s gorgeous wisdom:

The soul is here for its own joy.”  I hope you are living yours.

IMG_0539

This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Dancing Transcendence

  1. Uzoma says:

    Ah! You’re SO in love with dancing, Sirena. And most of the time I read your blogs about dancing and the joy that come with it, I feel am missing out. I share your sentiment about not being able to dance in a while. Sure, it’s like every other passion–away from it is like a punishment.

    In your dance rehearsals, do you people explore S. American dances?

    • SirenaTales says:

      Thank you, my friend. As much as I love dancing, Uzoma, I was also hoping to evoke that sense of passion and remind readers of whatever their source of passion may be and how vital these gifts and their cultivation are, yes? Do you mean social dancing, like salsa, etc.? I have done a bit of that and enjoy it! Depending on the dancers I am working with the influences vary, including capoeira, hip hop, and most often for me, African and Caribbean. What about you–are you interested in South American dance? Thank you again for all of the warm support–it inspires me!

  2. silentfingers says:

    You bring my poor soul two things — smiles and ‘fire’. Sirena, something awaits in your inbox. And only after coming here I realized “that you danced today”… I shall certainly visit to sit here for a longer while.. soon.
    For now, I leave you a with hug, for what you bring to my soul… and for many more.
    Hugs!

    • SirenaTales says:

      Lovely SF, Thank you so for your beautiful presence here. Your support humbles me, truly. I also thank you for your radiant gift, as well as the shining treasure of your pen and self. I am deeply moved. Hugs to you.

      • silentfingers says:

        The pleasure is all mine, dear Sirena. And, I can never be more grateful for the inspiration you bestowed upon my pen so wondrously — without myself even being aware of it. Thank You… once again… and alway!
        xx

  3. Bravo! You followed your souls calling–ignored your minds whining– and danced your joy! Love this! Xoxo

    • SirenaTales says:

      Much appreciated, TT. I think of you often as I travel on my path of MOVING and cultivating joy. It’s inspiring to know you’re out there doing same :). Rock on. xoxo

  4. silentfingers says:

    I cannot remember how long it has been since I have ‘danced’. Reading this made my feet want to take ‘old wings’. To see your passion for dancing and your words: “JOY MATTERS. Joy needs to be cultivated!” — has stirred something within the soul… something that looks quite like an ‘urge to Live’. Thank you for this!!

    And I just love Rumi’s this particular line. I read it somewhere few days back, and very well recall asking myself “am I living mine?”

    • SirenaTales says:

      My heart is smiling as broadly as my lips…I am thrilled that I may have inspired any vibrant movement–of body, mind, soul. Thank you so much…for everything. Beauty and joy to you and your formidable pen. xoxo

      • silentfingers says:

        Beautiful one, you inspired more than that.. You inspired a breath to breath *smile*
        xoxo

  5. BeWithUs says:

    It is always good to get fatigue after doing something that you like than to get fatigue over worrying things that are beyond our control. I am glad you are dancing, my friend! Cheers!!! 😀

    • SirenaTales says:

      How right and wise you are! Thank you for taking the time to share your insight and support. xoxo

      • BeWithUs says:

        Actually, I am not wise, my friend…it is just that I realized that my fatigues was mostly due to the latter after reading your post…so, your post has indeed enlightening me instead.

        Once again, thank you for sharing! Cheers~ 😀

  6. Geo Sans says:

    moving

    ~

    soothes

    the mind, body

    everything

  7. Sue Vincent says:

    Oh yes, Sirena 🙂 x

  8. luggagelady says:

    Yay, Chloe!! Cheers to joy, transcendence, and good old-fashioned gung-ho!! So inspired by your energetic drive!! Love! Look, I found your character –💃 xo

    • SirenaTales says:

      Oooooo, I LOVE her :)!!! Thank you, LL. Last night I was thinking of you as I read an article about the energy/emotional version of “entrainment,” i.e. how just being positive or happy around people pulls them to a positive place. That’s YOU! I realize that whenever I see Luggage Lady has been here, I immediately smile and relax into happy. Thank you so much, dear friend. You’ve inspired me more, and in more ways, than you’ll ever know. Now, I’ll have to get my kids to help me get that dancing emoticon! Love to you

  9. lovinchelle says:

    This is very cool. I had a lady named hillbillyzen who took a photo of mine and added a haiku to it. It was beautiful. Would love to see your poetry interpreted through dance

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

