dancing among crevices

it’s hard for my heart

to breathe here in the desert

I push the furniture’s space back again and again

against airless walls murmuring

to scrape some light together

a drought of dreams to gather

to squeeze into

the tears that won’t fall on aching ground

drip, drip into parched crevices

I am afraid to let go

clinging

to fluidity’s last drop

there’s just this trampling hum

dizzying

across a vast and crushing emptiness

as it twirls among the tinkling tatters

of lost stars

This entry was posted in Creativity, Inspiration, poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to dancing among crevices

  1. davidconfidential says:

    You know how to help your heart breathe? Taking your top off!

  2. Beautifully evocative. I’m so glad you visited my blog so I could find this. Looking forward to reading your posts as they come through. Thank you. Susan

    • SirenaTales says:

      Oh, my–thank you so much for this lovely comment! Yes, I was delighted to find you after reading your thoughtful, beautiful input on Things + Flesh’s blog. I look forward to returning to your spot regularly! Cheers…

  3. Uzoma says:

    Hello Sirena. A delightful use of words that conveys the message of clinging on to the what we love most even in hard times. You teach me patience via this poem.

    • SirenaTales says:

      Oh, Uzoma, Uzoma, such a kind and big-hearted soul you are! Your gentle words evidence the positive perspective of my poem, which I hadn’t realized until receiving this gift of your comment. Thank you for transforming darkness into light with your beautiful spirit. You teach me wisdom and generosity via this comment–and I am so grateful to you for leading the way.

  4. chiaink says:

    Your poem reminded of this short haiku I wrote quite a while ago.
    “Like drops of daylight
    Shafting deep into the crevasse
    I will melt your heart”
    Holding on through hard times is a strength, but so is letting go when necessary.
    Hugs to you,
    Chia

  5. silentfingers says:

    “Perhaps nothing gets broken!
    Perhaps what broke inside the bird’s wing
    morphed into the morning song on its beak,
    as it sat perched.
    Perhaps what crushed the oyster’s shell
    raised the naked pearl to glory
    on the desired Queen’s neck.
    Perhaps what scattered the dandelion’s hope
    evolved into its wisdom
    to envisage the flights of wingless Angels.
    And,
    … perhaps what so accurately breaks at the right places,
    and so precisely uproots life out of the human heart is
    what truly gives birth and meaning
    to the essence of a ‘Light’
    that negates one’s obsolete existence.
    Perhaps nothing ever was broken!”

    Dearest Ruby Soul, this I offer you, lovingly and silently — for, silence speaks and rises us back into eloquent songs!
    Much love and light to any crevices that your endure bravely!
    xoxo

    • SirenaTales says:

      Thank you so much for reminding me through this beautiful poem of yours, which i recall with comfort and inspiration. So true and wise, and gorgeously presented. I am blessed and honored by your presence and succor, lovely SF. Love to you

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

