KINDNESS! Pour It On

IMG_0400

And as I’ve gotten older, I’ve had more of a tendency to look for people who live by kindness, tolerance, compassion….”

You and me, Martin Scorsese.

I’ve been mulling over this piece about kindness for quite awhile. But I had been stymied by wondering what new and meaningful I could add to the topic.  I realized that simply adding my voice again to the rising chorus singing the essentialness and pricelessness of kindness is reason to write.

My realization was underscored after I gratefully received several kindnesses over the past few days–everything from joking with appreciative strangers about my Santa Hat to kind words from supporters about my dancing and writing.  What a difference kindness can make.

We all know “how desolate the landscape can be/ between the regions of kindness....,” as Naomi Shihab Nye so eloquently put it.  A kind word or thoughtful gesture, costing the giver nothing more than a smidgen of energy, can transform the inner landscape into something lush and vibrant–for both the donor and the recipient.  And kindness is infectious!

IMG_0137

So, as I was trying to decide whether to delay till tomorrow purchasing gifts to donate to the collection drive at my son’s school for families who need a little extra help this year, I came across the wisdom and generosity of Ralph Waldo Emerson: “You cannot do a kindness too soon, for you never know how soon it will be too late.”

I also wanted to bring a plate of cookies to the school’s staff, as my holiday appreciation is even more heightened as we approach the one year anniversary of the Newtown tragedy.  Only an hour from my home.

No. This is no time to delay.

I don my Santa Hat and head off in my “sleigh,” a/k/a minivan. I joke with the cashiers and smile at strangers and silently bless passersby.  I make my deliveries and return home to fire up the oven for more cookie baking with the not-so-secret ingredients of love and gratitude–the firefighters are next on my list.

I recall the lovely words of Og Mandino: “Beginning today, treat everyone you meet as if they were going to be dead by midnight. Extend to them all the care, kindness and understanding you can muster, and do it with no thought of any reward. Your life will never be the same again.”

Warmest wishes to you for peace, joy and kindness….

IMG_0191

This entry was posted in Cooking/Food, Inspiration, Kindness/Generosity, Mindful, Santa Hat/Christmas, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to KINDNESS! Pour It On

  1. kanzensakura says:

    Peace love and joy to you. My grandmother Ninny always used to say, “always choose to be kind”. this piece reminds me of one I did last year….My other car is a Klingon Battleship….it asked readers to be kind. I am glad your voice is raised as well. We can do so little but those little things effect us forever. I know the school staff was so cheered by your Santa hat and cookies. What a lovely thing to do. I am inpired once again to be kind. I hear my Ninny’s voice inside my head – always choose to be kind. Thank you for this gentle reminder.

    • SirenaTales says:

      Yes! “always choose to be kind….” What a lovely grandmother–I love hearing about her and her wisdom. Thank you for your kind words and continued support. May your generous kindness circle back to you. xo

  2. chiaink says:

    Another beautiful post full of wisdom and heart. Think I’ll pull out my santa hat for when I go out today and share in that awesome spirit! Cheers!

  3. chiaink says:

    Reblogged this on Chiarina Loggia and commented:
    Cause it just can’t be said enough, kindness is the greates gift you can give to others!

  4. Pam says:

    your heart is growing two sizes today, I can tell – may it be infectious to all of us who read your words…peace and joy to you

  5. Sue Vincent says:

    A beautiful post from a beautiful heart. xxx

  6. Your kindness is truly an inspiration. Really, it is! xoxo

  7. willowmarie says:

    I read the line “you cannot do a kindness too soon” and felt its truth deeply and think the people you’ve touched with your kindness have had their hearts opened and softened. Here’s to small blessings that aren’t and your “way” of being in the world. xo

    • SirenaTales says:

      Well, you brought tears to my eyes, WillowMarie. Thank you so much for your lovely comment. I had the same deep reaction to those words about it never being too soon for kindness–seems obvious, yet profound. I’m so grateful for your friendship. xo

  8. Uzoma says:

    Kindness uplifts the burdened soul. Your kind sure overflows. I’m blessed as it has repeatedly affected my life. Remain blessed!

    • SirenaTales says:

      Thank you so much, Uzo. So true: “kindness uplifts the burdened soul.” I am deeply grateful for all of your countless kindnesses to me, my friend. Blessings to you….

  9. t h i n g s + f l e s h says:

    perfectly written and kind, Chloe. tony

  10. Jenna Dee says:

    A lovely and timely post, thank you for sharing. I especially love the quote by Naomi Shihab Nye which I hadn’t heard before. Love Jenna

    • SirenaTales says:

      How lovely to have you here, Jenna! So pleased that you like the Naomi Shihab Nye quote, from her stunning poem, “Kindness.” It actually served as the inspiration for a piece I choreographed a couple of years ago, during which time I memorized the text, parts of which have stayed with me. Warmest wishes for kindness to you. xo

  11. BeWithUs says:

    Thank you so much for this inspiring post, my friend!

    Have a great day ahead, always~ Cheers!! 😀

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

