Grace Is All Around Us

IMG_0145

Christmas Eve.  Blustery and bone-chilling at dusk, the weather was less than enticing as I  got ready for a top fave ritual: delivering some Christmas cookies we’d just baked to firefighters in a nearby city and also at a firehouse down the road from us.

In recent years, I’ve usually ridden solo on this run in my “sleigh,” a/k/a minivan.  Occasionally, I am lucky enough to have one of my daughters visiting and she will accompany me.  Last night, I threw out the invitation to my shy youngest child, who was cozily relaxing and reading on the couch after a busy day.  He typically declines this kind of thing, so I barely waited to hear the usual “no, thank you”  when he stopped me in my tracks with “yes, sure!”

Really?

I tried not to expect too much from my adolescent sidekick.  I told myself that if he wanted to bail after the first delivery, fine.  But no.  Christmas Eve sprinkled some of her inimitable magic on our ride.

Rather than exhibiting embarrassment, boredom, sullenness, my son was visibly committed to our task, excited even.  Rather than hanging back, he shook hands with one grateful firefighter and exchanged wishes for a Merry Christmas.  As we ran across the busy city street, he laughed with me about our cookie exploits.

When my son got back in the car, he told me he hoped these firefighters, working the holiday shift, would enjoy the cookies we’d brought them, and he thanked me for taking him on this “fun” delivery.  I explained that his eager companionship was the best Christmas gift he could ever give me: generosity of spirit.

What my son’s sweet gesture reminded me of is that the magical gift of grace can come from anywhere, anytime.  It may appear in surprising form, it may emanate from unexpected places.  But if we are open to it, we can find that grace IS all around us. And inside us.  Wishing you comfort and joy and Merry Christmas!

photo-13

This entry was posted in Cooking/Food, Inspiration, Kindness/Generosity, Mindful, Santa Hat/Christmas, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Grace Is All Around Us

  1. What a lovely tradition! I am glad for your good company this year. 🙂

  2. Ann Koplow says:

    Thank you for this grace-ful post.

  3. lvsrao says:

    Great Post. Beautifully Expressed.

  4. lvsrao says:

    Great Post. Beautifuly Expressed.

  5. BeWithUs says:

    Be blessed, my friend (love those cookies..hehe)…always~ Cheers!! 😀

    • SirenaTales says:

      Hah! So pleased the cookies look good. Thank you for reading this post and giving me your kind support. Blessings to you and yours….

      • BeWithUs says:

        I remembered the last time I bake cookies was when I was a little girl and they were as hard as rock…LOL…

        You’re welcome, my friend!!

        Have a wonderful weekend ahead, always~ Cheers!! 😀

  6. j.h. white says:

    The smells of baking, our children surprising us…..you have a golden heart, Chloe. Merry Christmas to you and yours!

  7. Sue Vincent says:

    That’s beautiful 🙂 xxx

  8. What a beautiful post. Thank you. Susan x

  9. Peggy Bright says:

    Wonderful when our children learn the joy of giving.

  10. Seems like generosity of spirit runs in your family, and that’s a pretty powerful gene to share! xoxo

    • SirenaTales says:

      TT, Thank YOU for your generous comment! It is especially heartwarming and lovely to experience one’s children displaying kindness…not sure how much of a role I’ve played, but I am very grateful for this moment from this year’s holidays. Thanks for your constant support, my friend. xoxo

  11. Beautiful post. Just reminded me we should never lose hope. I loved the pic of cookies. I was taken to one of the memories of my school when we used to celebrate before going for holidays: http://sanchitahobby.wordpress.com/2013/12/23/an-event-to-remember/ . A merry christmas and a happy new year.

  12. willowmarie says:

    Your grace has touched him- mothers can make that happen without even noticing. Looks like that’s what happened. Wonderful tradition.

    • SirenaTales says:

      What a kind observation, WillowMarie–I am grateful to you. I do love this tradition and hope I can continue it now with my youngest. I hope you have been enjoying a magical holiday with family and friends. xoxo

  13. SirenaTales says:

    Reblogged this on Sirena Tales and commented:

    To have life take our breath away with these unexpected moments of grace: ahhhhh! Hoping you receive many such gifts now and in the new year. ❤

  14. Rachael says:

    Lovely. Have a peaceful, joyful Xmas. xxx

  15. russtowne says:

    Thank you for the fun, sweet, reminder. Merry Christmas!

  16. Eileen says:

    Love your tradition. Can totally relate to the unexpected grace of an adolescent getting with the spirit of Christmas. And really find the photo so appropriate for the post. A great post all the way around. Thanks so much.

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

