Bless the Artists

Art washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life.”–Pablo Picasso

I haven’t been able to create much lately.  There’s been sufficient “dust,” along with weightier matter including the recent loss of my mom, to tap out my available time, mental, physical, and emotional energy, and, ultimately, inspiration.

I’ve hungered increasingly to make some work.  I’ve been itching to write something or to resume efforts on my nearly forgotten dance solo.  Each time the spark has appeared, though, it has subsequently fizzled in defeat, and my wondering “what does it matter, anyway?”

Well, it does.

As illustrated for me loudly, clearly and wondrously when we attended one of my kids’ music concerts at his school the other night. The joy of the music transported me to a place of comfort, hope and elation, as did witnessing so many adolescents, of all shapes, appearance and sizes, coming together and working so hard to offer something of beauty to us and the universe.

That inspiring experience spurred me to rev myself up again by gobbling up others’ art.  Yes! Drafting off of their creativity, talent and inspiration to rekindle the fire.

284479_10151124688998224_826252379_n

Photo credit: Rich Davis

So, yesterday I went to dance class, even though I felt at first as if I wouldn’t be able to do even the smallest movement.  Wrong.  Today, as I walk around on my “dancing legs,” each  creaky step reminds me of the jubilation and challenge of yesterday’s feast of movement with that masterful teacher and so many gorgeous dancers.

Back home, I checked out the archives of the graceful, luminous writer at http://www.things+flesh.wordpress.com and the stunning prints of http://www.chiaink.wordpress.com, and a few other lovely blogs.  I read another essay from Ann Patchett’s insightful, wry and eloquent book, “This Is the Story of A Happy Marriage.”  I came away refreshed and stimulated.

Joseph Campbell said that “[l]ife has no meaning.  We each have meaning and we bring it to life. It is a waste to be asking the question when you are the answer.”  Relishing the vision of many artists in the past couple of days reminds me of how crucial art is to me.  It feeds my soul, imbuing my life with loveliness and deep meaning.

Making my own art is my offering, however humble.  It is my raison d’être. If I neglect my art, I imperil the essence of my own life and whatever I can contribute during this lifetime.

While things have been especially rocky lately, I remind myself that daily life will  always scatter, or heap :), “dust” onto us.  It’s essential for me to cultivate art in my life as much as I can, even if I have to scrabble to do it.

It’s also crucial to express appreciation to all those intrepid and generous folks who make life worth living with their artistry.  By keeping at it, at the magical, infuriating, transcendent (and often unheralded and unrecompensed) experience of creating art, artists stimulate, challenge, humor, comfort, inspire, beautify and enchant us and our lives.

So, yes, I am shouting from my rooftop: THANK GOD FOR ARTISTS!  Go Make Art.  I’ll see you there.

Photo credit: Essennelle Studios

Photo credit: Essennelle Studios

This entry was posted in Creativity, Inspiration, Kindness/Generosity, Mindful, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Bless the Artists

  1. Miranda Stone says:

    What a beautiful post! You’re an inspiration to all artists. When we endure such painful experiences as you have recently, it’s tempting and understandable to retreat into our shells as we grieve. How wonderful that you were able to find comfort at your child’s music concert, and then discover the fortitude within yourself to continue dancing.

  2. sachemspeaks says:

    Sorry to hear about your loss, I can relate!

  3. j.h. white says:

    Like meets like here…..you are the Joseph Campbell quote Chloe. It perfectly personifies everything about you. Graceful and full of grace!

    • SirenaTales says:

      You’ve brought me to tears, Jana. Thank you so much for this amazing, graceful and kind cloak of words. I will be printing your comment so I can save it near me. Hugs and love

  4. kanzensakura says:

    And bless you! I am sorry to hear about what has been going on with you. My heart sends hugs to you. I had been wondering where you were. You inspire me and give me joy and I wish somehow, I could give you back some of what you have given me. HUGHUGHUGHUG

    • SirenaTales says:

      Well, what a heartwarming piece of loveliness for this frigid eve, my friend! Thank you from the bottom of my heart for this wonderful comment–I am saving this to savor it into the future. And you do reciprocate the joy and inspiration–thank you so much for that. xoxo

  5. Geo Sans says:

    sorry to hear
    of the loss of your mother
    ~
    I’ve found experiencing art
    provides
    much comfort and strength
    ~
    there’s so much love, life, joy
    in artful expressions

  6. Uzoma says:

    Very encouraging. It’s understandable if one, when burdened with grief, decides to withdraw for some time from social activities. However, embracing the positive/bright/lovely things about life as quick as possible is the best way to move on. I’m pleased you found joy and a reason to keep dancing at your son’s music concert.

    Here is to wishing you joy and success.

  7. I think there’s a time to give and a time to receive… each keeps the other going. What a wonderful gift you’ve given us here! Thank you! xoxo

  8. Keep following the perfect guidance of your intuition, Chloe, x

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

