spring’s earthy caress

I lay on the earth today sinking

into dirt’s primal

aroma sprawled

swaddled in sunshine and hope

my skin tickling tendrils

along grassy noses singing

to buds’ and birds’ mirth

aquiver

with a chorus of possibility

the land called to me undeniably

unshod these endlessly gelid toes

melting wintered limbs

suffusing us with the roaring and ready kiss

of life,

caress: the wondrous remembrance

of spring

IMG_0902

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Mindful, poetry, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to spring’s earthy caress

  1. So nice to finally be able to melt our wintered limbs. Thank you for this lovely homage to spring, ST xoxo

    • SirenaTales says:

      Always so refreshing to hear from you, TT, here or on your inspiring blog. Thank you for the kind words. Hope you and your fam can soak up some spring vibe this weekend! Xoxo

  2. stacilys says:

    Do I sense someone is happy that spring has sprung?
    🙂

    • SirenaTales says:

      Oh, good–so glad that came across :). It’s been a rough winter for many reasons–for me and a number of friends. So, yes-S P R I N G! Thank you for being here, Staci.

  3. Geo Sans says:

    along the river
    walking
    spotting a hummingbird

  4. t h i n g s + f l e s h says:

    reading you, Chloe, i emerge wiser and somehow feel beautiful and connected, like a bloom. x tony

    • SirenaTales says:

      This morning I: 1. read your amazing comment; 2. cried with gratitude for you in my life; 3. quickly printed a copy; 4. carried it with me (smiling) all day on my “rounds.” I will be keeping your gift by my computer. How do you thank someone you admire tremendously for helping you feel you matter? Whatever those magic words of thanks are, I say them to you, my friend. ((((Hugs))))

  5. Miranda Stone says:

    Spring has finally arrived, as your beautiful poem illustrates! Your words are a lovely reminder for all of us to go outside and connect with the Earth as it emerges from winter slumber. Today the cherry trees are blossoming here, and the mockingbirds and finches recite their joyful songs. Thank you, Chloe, for sharing your work, and reminding me to look outside and enjoy the beauty there.

    • SirenaTales says:

      Oh, my, what a lovely picture you paint of your world, Miranda. It sounds wonderful…I love blossoming cherry trees. So fairylike. Your friendship has buoyed me more than I can say during this very challenging winter. Not sure I can find the words to express my deepest gratitude, my friend. Love to you and your mountains….

      • Miranda Stone says:

        Much love to you, Chloe! I’m so thankful for your friendship. I hope you have a fantastic weekend.

  6. Uzoma says:

    I love the sound and effectiveness of this line: “to buds’ and birds’ mirth…”

    So spring has finally arrived, freeing those frozen parts and sending all into happy movement — except for the trees 🙂

    This is another season, another chapter, and your poem mirrors the happiness and freedom it brings.

    May I join in this experience. Here, we’re already in the rainy season. It can get so wet and messy at times.

    Thanks for sharing this lovely poem, Chloe.

    • SirenaTales says:

      Thank you so much for your feedback and for sharing your experience, Uzo. That mirthful line came out of nowhere–love that word, “mirth,” and so pleased the line works for you. Hope you are staying dry and comfy during rainy season. Today has dawned with clouds and rain forecast, instead of the sunshine we had thought we would see. Gahhhhh! After the winter darkness, many sunny days would be so wonderful. Oh, well. Here’s wishing you an inspiring week, my friend. Xoxo

  7. ‘swaddled in sunshine and hope’
    and that’s precisely how it feels too especially
    after the beast we endured this year. your joy
    is dancing off the page Chloe, it’s infectious!

    • SirenaTales says:

      How sweet to hear that I succeeded in sharing that sense of joy–thank you, MW. I thought of you as I wrote this one, as well as when I lay down on the ground….yes, “beast” describes perfectly my experience, and yours, from what you’ve conveyed. Today cloudy and rainy again-NOOOOO! Oh, well, for that poetic moment: J O Y. Wishing you a lovely, warm, sunny week ahead, mon ami. xoxo

  8. Eileen says:

    YES! Your words say it so well….the feeling of life surging through us once again…..renewal.

  9. chrisbkm says:

    What a glorious moment of melting into the earth… turning and returning. Yay springtime!!

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

