float

 

float, don’t flail

churning

in the turbid

undertow

again

were they talking about the sea

or how to be?

yes

advance or retreat

wait? can’t see!

pebbled

sands tumble

rebel feet

the furious

roiling

embroils us

then poof!

at last recedes

releases

a moment’s glimmering

peace

when we

don’t flail, but float

image

Cape Cod National Seashore, Massachusetts, USA–Winter, 2013

 

 

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Mindful, poetry, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to float

  1. Rachael Charmley says:

    I love the energy of this, Chloe. You take us on an amazing tactile journey – we float and flail, we’re tumbled and roiled (and then embroiled – agh!) – then POOF – we’re there. A journey where a little more attention to mindfulness would have made the route to nirvana/satori, or whatever, just a tad easier. Love the energy and playfulness of this. Somewhere inside you, a teacher of mindfulness is pushing to the surface. Maybe it’s already there 🙂

    • SirenaTales says:

      So pleased you had such a tactile experience–what I was attempting to evoke. Ah, mindfulness….thank you for the vote of confidence, my lovely friend, and the generosity. Xo

  2. Sometimes I feel like I’m flailing, but it was a necessary part of the process…that led to floating. Thanks for your inspiration, ST. xoxo

    • SirenaTales says:

      Excellent and insightful point, MBSS. As you suggest, a key is to stay in the process. Not always comfortable, but wise :). Thank you so much for being here and contributing your gifts, as always. Xoxo

  3. F.G.M. says:

    Un bonjour depuis Brême en Allemagne à ma chère Chloé et merci pour ce merveilleux poème, fluctuat non mergitur est la devise en latin de Paris, ton premier vers m y a fait pensé. Much love to you!

    • SirenaTales says:

      Fantastique, Frederic! Thank you so much for bringing this to my attention–I hadn’t known till now. I am flattered, no honored, by the association :). Merci pour ton amitie, mon ami. xoxo

  4. Mélanie says:

    souvenirs merveilleux… been to Cap Code in June, 2 years ago… loved it! 🙂 here’s the same Atlantic: http://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/2014/07/11/lile-douessant-atmosphere-3-s-sauvage-superbe-spectaculaire/
    * * *
    have a “floating” weekend, Belle Sirène! ❤

    • SirenaTales says:

      Heh–“a floating weekend.” A lovely thought, Melanie, merci! Oh, yes, Cape Cod-the home of my soul. So pleased you enjoyed that enchanting place, and thank you for the link to your beautiful post. Bon weekend a vous, Jolie Melanie. xo

      • Mélanie says:

        🙂 merci, jolie sirène! nous avons passé un spledide 14 juillet – notre fête nationale… 🙂 I love France, my homeland… ❤

  5. Miranda Stone says:

    I always know I’ll find wisdom and inspiration in your words, dear Chloe. I love the playful dance of this poem, and you do a spectacular job with the assonance: churning/turbid, pebbled/rebel, roiling/embroils. This is truly superb.

    • SirenaTales says:

      Thank you so much, Miranda. I hadn’t realized how much I adore assonance till your edification, my knowledgeable friend. I am grateful for your continuing to visit and offer such generous support. I confess that many of my pieces start out much darker, but I do aim for positivity most of the time–hope it isn’t wearing. Also hope you are having a lovely weekend, dear Miranda. Love to you

      • Miranda Stone says:

        Your positivity could never be wearing, Chloe! For me, it’s a breath of fresh air. Thank you for sharing your lovely and inspiring words. Love and hugs to you, beautiful dancer!

  6. Lorien says:

    The dance of it all! The dance of the words and the images, such feeling! Thank you!

  7. Geo Sans says:

    learning
    confidence
    ~
    in big water

  8. SirenaTales says:

    love this! thank you very much for beautifying my spot, my friend.

  9. diahannreyes says:

    Wise words.. and a reminder that I am actually needing today– relax, release the constrictions and the contracting and let yourself be carried.. just have to float. And pretty good advice too for if I ever find myself in such a predicament in the sea, Sirena xo

    • SirenaTales says:

      Heh. Here’s hoping you are never presented with such a predicament, Diahann! I am so pleased I may have helped facilitate any relaxation and release (I can dish the advice pretty readily; follow it–not so much :)). Hope to meet you out there floating. Thank you for your tremendous support.xo

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

