It’s Always Time for Kindness

“You cannot do a kindness too soon,
for you never know how soon it will be too late.”
~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

While I am deeply grateful for my life, I was having some rough days.  Yesterday, as I headed back out into the torrential rainstorm for the long drive back home through some local flooding, an acquaintance and I exchanged hellos when we passed each other in the hallway.

As I started to duck my head to rush to my car, he called out to compliment me on the class I taught last week.  Saying enthusiastically that I had done a wonderful job teaching a beautiful class.

The simple kindness brought tears to my eyes and lodged a lump in my throat.  Choking back tears, I could barely get a “thank you” out.

Then my amazing daughter baked some yummy and HAPPY cookies from the new cookbook she purchased by Joy The Baker, “Homemade Decadence,” that I got to savor with a cup of hot tea. Scrumptious cookies were lifted to the level of unforgettable by that priceless ingredient: kindness.

It makes me cry now just to think about how enormously potent those “little” kindnesses are.  Sometimes we forget how crucial they are, sometimes we believe we are “too busy.”

Yet what could be more important, and often nearly effortless, than the “little” words and gestures that make the sun shine in someone’s heart?  Here’s hoping your path is generously sprinkled with a rainbow of kindness.

photo-23

Every single person has at least one secret
that would break your heart.
~ Frank Warren

(thank you for the quotes, Angie)

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Cooking/Food, Inspiration, Kindness/Generosity, Mindful, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to It’s Always Time for Kindness

  1. ♥ “Here’s hoping your path is generously sprinkled with kindness.” ~ Chloe Carlson ♥

    • SirenaTales says:

      Oh, Angie, your support means so much to me, thank you! And thank you for the daily boost of your always inspiring and comforting quotes–the inspiration for this post. xoxo

  2. Miranda Stone says:

    Hugs to you, Chloe. This is a beautiful post, and I’m so glad these acts of kindness found their way to you. ❤

  3. jetgirlcos says:

    Awww…what a lovely reminder of the little kindnesses we can do, because you never know what will touch someone’s heart. And…the cookies look delish, they just exude happiness 🙂

  4. You deserve every bit of kindness that’s found you…what goes around comes around XXoo

  5. F.G.M. says:

    Wow, Chloé! I love your post, your quotes and thoughts AND last but not least your cookies… as Jetgirlcos said, they “exude happiness”!!! “Every single person has at least one secret
    that would break your heart.” C’est si vrai, si juste, et malheureusement, souvent, nous l’oublions… Thanks for this wonderful reminder 🙂 ♥♥♥

  6. Rachael Charmley says:

    Lovely, Chloe. Kindnesses are so easy to do, and they really do spread like the proverbial pebble in the ocean. Thank you for throwing so many pebbles ❤

  7. luggagelady says:

    …and YOU are a master at delivering those “potent little kindnesses!” I cannot imagine how many others you’ve lifted up with your perfectly-timed words — suffice to say, you’ve made the “sun shine in my heart” countless times. Thank you for doing it yet again!!! 💝

    • SirenaTales says:

      Really, LL, your timing is impeccable! You arrive at moments when I need a lil’ boost and you give me that and then some. Thank you so much for being in my life and for embodying such tremendous heart and kindness. Shine on, LL!!!! xoxo

  8. The cookies were good, I mean real good!

  9. diahannreyes says:

    Chloe, I love how you let these acts of kindness in, receiving them- rather than just brushing them aside or not fully absorbing them into your being. I think it’s so easy to miss these acts. Thanks for the reminder to breathe kindness in.

  10. SirenaTales says:

    The need to “…breathe kindness in: ” leave it to you, my observant and wise friend to deepen my understanding of my own experience and show me how better to live. You have a gift, Diahann–I am blessed to have you share it here. xoxo

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

