Dance, dance,….

otherwise we are lost.”~Pina Bausch

Let’s dance!

Come on and DANCE. I.e.”….move the body, typically rhythmically and following a pattern or sequence of steps.” To music or not  (Music, Music!!)

“Caper, cavort, frisk, frolic, skip, prance, gambol, jig, leap, jump, hop, bounce”–YES!

While we’re at it we can “sway, trip, twirl, whirl, pirouette, gyrate, bop, disco, rock, boogie.”

And definitely “shake a leg, hoof it, cut a rug, trip the light fantastic, get down, mosh” and

ABSOLUTELY “groove

Even the words for dancing are energizing and fun.

If some body parts can’t move the way they used to or we would like them to?  Then we can move them in a different way or choose a different part of the bod to shake it. Not a lot of space to move in?  Take it outside or do a dance for a teeny tiny space :).

Because for pretty much whatever ails us, puzzles us, enthralls us, dance makes it better.  Dance makes US better.

So, before we head out into another gusty snowstorm to shovel, let’s Work. It. OUT!

photo-48

Dance, when you’re broken open. Dance, if you’ve torn the bandage off. Dance in the middle of the fighting. Dance in your blood. Dance when you’re perfectly free.”~Rumi

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Dance, dance,….

  1. kanzensakura says:

    “Let’s dance put on your red shoes and dance the blues”David Bowie “Let’s dance, let’s shout, Shake you body down to the ground” Michael Jackson “I dance in the moment, I dance as I feel.” Genki Sudo “When I dance, I think I can fly” Kanzen

    • SirenaTales says:

      Yes! Love all of these…but especially Kanzen’s :). Thank you so much for adding your exuberance to these pages. xoxo

      • kanzensakura says:

        I am doing a post sometime today because in Japan, it is setsubun….the day before lunar spring, as they count it. Virtually a new year. Theatre events, festivals at shrines, throwing beans…that’s where bean bags come from….role reversals – like geishas dressing like their clients and vice versa, lots and lots of dancing – Ha! I knew you would like that! And I do, when I dance, I think I can truly fly. And I know you fly!

    • SirenaTales says:

      Ah, how wonderful that it is a new year. Thanks so much for sharing this information. Refreshing! Inspiring! Looking forward to your post. xoxo

  2. Rachael Charmley says:

    I’m rediscovering that dancing (and singing) really does help in these cold, dark days! Thank you xxx

  3. I agree. The words associated with dance and music are great! Gonna shake a leg today!

  4. Luggage Lady says:

    What a perfect way to put the zip in my strut and spunk in my trunk as I begin my sixth day of flying in a row! Thanks for the energy boost and uplifting imagery! Hope you’re weathering all the storms out there. Great time to visit Cali… 😘

    • SirenaTales says:

      Yikes! Sixth day of flying–how DO you do that? While I am thrilled that I may have boosted your energy, I also know that you and your bod deserve some TLC. Maybe some dancing and then definitely some resting and a massage :)? “Spunk in my trunk”–love that and am going to steal it, thank you. Yes, the image of sunny Cali is especially enticing right about now….

      Thank you SO much for taking the time to read and comment so kindly in the midst of your crazy schedule, LL. Love to you….

  5. diahannreyes says:

    Oh my, do you truly dance in your kitchen, even? I so love that… I really do. Maybe if I did that too I would grow to find a way to love cooking. You are like the pied piperess except your body is your instrument calling us to dance.

    • SirenaTales says:

      Ha! “You are like the pied piperess except your body is your instrument calling us to dance.” That is one of the most gratifying things anyone has ever said to me, Diahann. I am grateful beyond words. xxo

  6. cindy knoke says:

    Love this! I think I must try…….

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

