Radiating Possibility

Last summer, I wandered into a lovely shop. To be greeted by this small wall hanging*, which made my heart leap:

image

 

Y E S!

Ahhh, contemplating possibility.  Love it. Simply saying that potent word swirls a boundlessness around and within me.

Some days, heck some weeks or months, it’s harder to remember that many of the limitations and obstacles we construct are of our own making.  And wholly unnecessary.  I realize as I write this that I have gotten out of my previous practice of frequently saying the words “possibility” and the questioning mantra “why isn’t that possible?”

So, I am getting back on that train of expansiveness.

Recalling, too, a small but profoundly transformative tip a mentor gave me awhile back that I HAVE held onto.  Namely, revising limiting descriptions.

E.g., my old habit was to say (or think) “I am so bad with maps and driving directions.” Now, whenever I hear myself use “always” or “I am” or “they are,” I quickly check in to see if such a generalization is true.  Nope–usually not.

Now I qualify such global, inaccurate and shackling statements with “except when I’m not” or “often, they are…” Re: my sense of direction, I might now explain that “I used to be weak reading maps and following driving directions, but I am much better since I’ve had more practice!” 🙂

photo-7

Since I was turned onto this tool, I’ve noticed how frequently people pigeonhole themselves and others–needlessly so.  I often ask folks if that is always the case or even (perhaps annoyingly :)) allow a little fresh air into their mental and emotional “boxes” by adding “except when you aren’t?” or “often, but not always?”

We have the power to unshackle our images and experiences, and instead bask in and savor the abundance of possibility that we can radiate.  Sure, it takes effort and awareness.  But we end up with a richer, more exciting and vast existence.  And a shinier universe.

In case your jet pack of possibility needs a little boost, I’ve included a few quotes here that I hope may ignite it and you.  See you out on the frontiers, baby!

IMG_0357

If we all did the things we are really capable of doing, we would astound ourselves.”~Thomas Edison

Without leaps of imagination or dreaming, we lose the excitement of possibilities. Dreaming, after all is a form of planning.”
― Gloria Steinem

A thought, even a possibility, can shatter and transform us.”~ Frederick Nietzsche

Man often becomes what he believes himself to be. If I keep on saying to myself that I cannot do a certain thing, it is possible that I may end by really becoming incapable of doing it. On the contrary, if I have the belief that I can do it, I shall surely acquire the capacity to do it even if I may not have it at the beginning.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

I dwell in possibility…”~Emily Dickinson

IMG_0552

 

*Wall art: Kelly Rae Roberts, http://shop.kellyraeroberts.com

 

 

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Kindness/Generosity, Mindful, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Radiating Possibility

  1. maskednative says:

    You don’t know how much I needed to hear these positive words today. Thank you so much for a wonderfully inspirational post, it’s really picked me back up again. Have a good day yourself x

    • SirenaTales says:

      And you don’t know how much your support means to me, my faraway friend. I do hope things are going better for you–sorry to hear that it may have been rough going. How lovely and kind of you to take the time and make the effort to comment when you are already feeling challenged! Suffice it to say that before pressing “publish” for this post I did what I’ve done every single time I’ve written something: paused and wondered whether it would matter. Thank you for redemption. Sending you abundant positive vibes….xo

  2. diahannreyes says:

    This post makes me think of you soaring through the air, Chloe. And also about how limited and powerful the mind is at the same time… it’s really about what we do with it, isn’t it? It’s amazing what opens up when we work with our thoughts from an empowered place instead of the other. I hadn’t thought about it this way before.. no pun intended..thank you.

    • SirenaTales says:

      So true–it is “…amazing what opens up when we work with our thoughts from an empowered place….” You’ve put your finger on a fundamental understanding for me, Diahann, that took me decades to realize, namely that WE have so much power to shape our lives, as well the responsibility that goes along with that. Now I just need to keep putting it into action :)….Once again, I so appreciate your deep insight. xxo

  3. Thank you for the positive! I think my favorite quote was Emily Dickinson’s.

  4. Luggage Lady says:

    The entire time I was reading your lovely compilation on possibility’s abundance, all I could hear was Yoda’s voice (the little Star War’s character, in case that name doesn’t ring a bell 🙂 ) saying, “Do. Or do not. There is no try.” I’m a big dreamer, over-planner, and (unfortunately) world class procrastinator so I find inspiration in Thomas Edison’t quote.

    Thank you for the brilliant kick in the caboose…And now I strap on my jet pack and zip off into the wild blue yonder… Xoxo

    • SirenaTales says:

      Heh–I LOVE that quote of Yoda’s, LL! Thanks so much for the reminder, as well as your energizing comment. Here’s hoping your travels are wonderful! xoxo

  5. Love those quotes – thank you! x

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

