shining through the fears

They will tell you that you shouldn’t, needn’t, can’t, won’t.

They will tell you that no one ever has.

And that no one, certainly not you, ever will.

They will whisper that you are too old, too young, too weak, too foolish, too female (or male), too fat, too daft.

They will intone all of the perils, pitfalls, and costs, as if feasting on the litany of their own fears is as essential as breathing.

In this, we will not join them.

In the withering world of impossibility, we will keep opening the lids of trepidatious boxes.

We will shine forth our dreams to join the radiant sea of awaiting possibility.

We will defy their fears, and ease the tightly closed fists.

As we feed and free hungering imagination

and say: “YES.”

IMG_1213

 

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Kindness/Generosity, poetry, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to shining through the fears

  1. Rachael Charmley says:

    Bravo to the brave 🙂 xxx

  2. YES! Most definitely.

  3. Eileen says:

    For many years I operated from the rule: “If at first you don’t succeed, quit so you won’t make a fool of yourself.” Finally, I heard the Spirit within say, “You are only called to do the best you can. The doing is your part, not the succeeding.”

  4. Gorgeous photo! Is that in your home with the lovely yellow walls? x x

    • SirenaTales says:

      Thank you, Elysha. Yes, that’s my living room, a/k/a “studio,” where I push the furniture to the walls when I can’t get to an actual studio :). I appreciate your time and support so much! xxo

  5. diahannreyes says:

    Thank you for this… I’ve been feeling the inadvertent effect of being told my work may be too niche to pay the bills… then again perhaps that is only absolutely true if I believe it.

    • SirenaTales says:

      Dear Diahann, Today, I saw a quote of Deepak Chopra and immediately thought of you and your comment: “Always go with your passions. Never ask yourself if it’s realistic or not.” Possibly easier said than done, but I so agree with you that what you believe to be true is key. I don’t know about “too niche, etc.” but I do know that your commitment to your vision fuels all of your blog writing like a house on fire. That’s powerful! Could it be a matter of shifting/packaging/turning it on its head/reconfiguring/expanding? STAY WITH YOUR DREAM, lady!! xoxo p.s. Thank you for your support!

      • diahannreyes says:

        Thank YOU Chloe! I am going to ruminate on your suggestion. It’s something I’ve been thinking on but the way you articulated the idea gave me a new way in! Xo

  6. SirenaTales says:

    Oh, I really appreciate your saying this as I was concerned that I may have overstepped….It’s a funny thing that today another friend came to chat about a sudden, undesirable obstacle that has arisen with her vision/work and was quite upset. I had this flash of intuition that maybe she just needed to shift how she was viewing and responding to the “problem.” Once she changed her perspective she had a flood of ideas about how this could be an refreshing opportunity. I so hope that you will draw on your many gifts, including your creativity, to persevere, if you want to. Although I totally get how tough that can be. Rock on….

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

