beware the herd

they keep telling me

to shrink

the reaching contours

of these dreams

scale back

my vision’s resolute colors

yet how can I dilute

their fervor?

will we also cow the hawks

scoffing that they soar too high?

this herd

chewing their confining

cud, huddle thoughtlessly

mired in their own fear:

let’s run!

run the other way! DPG_8388-L Photo credit: Rich Davis

This entry was posted in Inspiration, poetry, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to beware the herd

  1. Lorien says:

    Thank you. I got chills reading this. Yes. RUN THE OTHER WAY! 🙂 ❤

  2. Rachael Charmley says:

    I love this – particularly the last two lines! Yes, they’re bad news so RUN – run the other way!!! Superb 🙂

  3. SirenaTales says:

    Dear Rachael, Thank you so much for your encouragement–means more than I can say, especially given the poem’s theme :). Rock on, my friend. xxo

  4. Mél@nie says:

    sooo realistic, Belle Sirène! ❤ your super-poem has reminded me of "les moutons de Panurge"… 😉
    * * *
    un dimanche ensoleillé et une semaine positive! amicalement, Mél@nie

  5. Luggage Lady says:

    What a perfect life mantra! Made me think of a quote from Brian’s Song (a heartbreaking movie based on the true life story of the Chicago Bear football player Brian Piccolo): “You’ve got to believe in yourself — not to prove it to anyone else, because who gives a damn what anybody else thinks — just to prove it to yourself…” ~ Brian Piccolo

    Sending love to you Dear Chloe from Vidin, Bulgaria 💖, LL

    • SirenaTales says:

      Thank you so much for this special comment, LL. I am beyond touched that you read this piece AND commented so generously WHILE traveling the world. ‘Can’t wait to hear more of your latest adventures. love to you

  6. diahannreyes says:

    Whoever “they” are need to go check it and let you do your thang- my “they” often is my inner critic. I must say- have been off-WB mostly due to work – despite our recent conversation on my blog, you definitely continue to keep weaving beautiful posts here, my friend.

  7. SirenaTales says:

    Heh. My “they” is pretty much the same as your “they.” Thanks so much for getting me and spurring me on, Diahann. Your kind words are a balm. xxo

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

