knowing when to exit

it was far

too late

to be leaving

so, how can the grinding weight

(misgivings, grieving?)

chill us

still,

like footsteps frozen

by narrowed paths

too trodden;

funny how comfort both coddles

and numbs-

a blanket becomes a halter

(or a noose)

asking us:

will courage

falter, another casualty

indentured to life’s sidelines

comparing gravestone necklaces,

or will we keep moving

venturers

the path uncertain

but alive!

photo-7

 

 

This entry was posted in Inspiration, poetry, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to knowing when to exit

  1. katherinejlegry says:

    Such an unusual title for the body of the poem, Chloe. But it lends to what feels like a “death and rebirth” in the questions. So powerful. The truth(s) seem to glisten as sharply in this poem as the light on the water in your picture…

    I’ve been working steadily for days on a book project involving tons of scanning and nitty gritty computer stuff like removing tiny blemishes that shouldn’t be on the artworks because the scanner was dirty (so not the fun parts of the project) and then I had to work on cleaning and re-finishing floors for a group art show space… and my brain was in need of a break and some Chloe art(s) precisely because I didn’t expect this poem of yours… And I like the surprise encounter. thank you for a human echo… I feel like I’m walking in the wheel ruts of others sometimes trying to get to places I don’t need to go to or want to go… and It’s good to know when to exit! Eeeek! 🙂

    So away from the hive mind at least for now (but save the bees, love those pollinators) and onward mysterious and allusive eel? I dunno… 🙂

    I sure hope you have a lovely adventurous, liberated day!

    • SirenaTales says:

      Heh. “…I feel like I’m walking in the wheel ruts of others sometimes trying to get to places I don’t need to go to or want to go….” Spot on, Katherine, for the inspiration for this poem. Having you visit with your sparkling and honest vibrancy is SUCH a treat! Thank you so much for your generosity. Really.

      I groaned out loud reading your evocative description of your challenging days. I hope some rockin’ inspiration is winging its way across your path! And I really hope I didn’t bring you down with this piece. Ironically, I have been working on an upbeat post for awhile about the treasures of being discombobulated, venturing into the unfamiliar. Then this poem popped up and wrote herself yesterday.

      As a performer, I do think a lot about exiting. My experience is that folks generally stay “on” too long–whether on the stage or in public speaking or in ruts that are cozily familiar and also stultifying. It can be so darn hard to move (on)! Anyhoo, I love hearing from you with your refreshing “realness.” With big hugs and lotsa love, C

      • katherinejlegry says:

        Hey awesome woman, No matter what, you be you Chloe. You aren’t responsible for bringing anybody up or down and are entirely safe feeling however you do when I’m your reader. I like the whole you and am not looking for “positive” as much as I’m looking for what is real or true for you… and I don’t see the “negative” as “bad” because you’re in process and doing an artistic or spiritual catharsis… and we all need retreats (or exits) and I know all too well the escape-pod into the cozy abyss rather than choosing the ones that replenish me or help me grow.

        In fact, I found you to be in tune or getting in touch with your psychic space and not “negative” and I found your post nourishing and not a downer. I want you to feel happy and positive and vibrant or peaceful or energized or inspired or feeling unity OF COURSE but I also want you to feel free to experience all of your emotions, ya know? It’s all valid and doesn’t make you a downer. It makes you a complex, unique, sensitive human artist woman. I love that about you. Hugs back at you, my friend. 🙂

    • SirenaTales says:

      Your bounteous wisdom, reassurance and encouragement are especially appreciated today, KJ. Thank you. xxo

      • katherinejlegry says:

        Oh my, Chloe… I sure am processing today… And I could have focused on forgiveness and a broader view of life where I understand the reality or source of where the pain stemmed from and how those projections or judgements came about. And I could have seen that I didn’t need to get hung up about or side tracked by or made immobile because of someone else’s thinking or illness or loops or modes of relating… but Chloe… I got mad and made a stand (ever futile to do and always distorted ) and I sent an email off!!! Literally an email full of clarifications and several choice cuss words. And I threatened to write a whole book about this person and actually get it published if “they didn’t knock their Sh*t off” and I believe myself when I say these things. 😦
        So, my marvelous dancer friend… if any of my “wisdom” helped you in your day, I am relieved that you felt encouraged and supported. My goal is really to work on the “positive” too, but damn it if the cathartic arts don’t do me a little better. Aw well, sorry to take up your comment section with an “all about me” page…
        Hope your day is filled with exactly what you need and no distractions!!!!!
        xoxo,
        kj

    • SirenaTales says:

      Sorry for the delay, Katherine…and even more sorry for your crummy time the other day. I was sending you positive vibes even if i couldn’t get to write a reply then. Hope your catharsis worked wonders and that your wide array of projects is going swimmingly. love to you….

  2. Lorien says:

    Ooh…this is one to reread and digest a little more. And it’s dovetailing nicely with what I’m wanting to write about tonight–never having it all done, never getting it all together, being okay with that. Sweet.

  3. SirenaTales says:

    Oh, cool, Lorien! Love that we are on a similar wavelength. And thank you so much for taking the time to read and comment. As I mentioned to Katherine above, this poem unexpectedly showed up yesterday, so I ran with it. Hope you are enjoying a lovely day….xo

  4. tabbyrenelle says:

    Hi Chloe, it feels like a darker poem, but I kinda like the spooky vibes. The “comparing gravestone necklaces” made me think of inherited wealth and being “stuck” with it almost like a Charles Dickens shadow of clinging (Great Expectations dealt with this in a way). Something about the poem asking the reader if they’ll be more courageous, makes for a bigger “gulp of fear” feeling! Maybe I’m projecting some halloween chills onto your work, but I like where this poem takes my personal imaginings.

    On a more practical connection to your poem, Maru will be walking new territory by January and I wonder should I change my blog… What should my new direction be? I don’t know yet. I just know I don’t feel like drumming for a new band. Hmmmm…

    But what I do know is I will always be looking forward to your next post! 🙂
    xoxo,
    tabby

    • SirenaTales says:

      Wow, Tabby, thanks for all of your cool and intriguing observations. After reading your insightful comments, I realized for the first time that the visual flash I had when I wrote “comparing gravestone necklaces” was in fact a Dickensian one. Thank you so much for helping me understand my own work :). Your support is amazing…and most appreciated!

      As far as your transition goes re: your blog, I can’t wait to see what you come up with. I hope the exploration is exciting and not too daunting. I do wonder what you’ll be doing with your drumming….here’s hoping for an inspiring outlet, as the world needs more drumming!

      Rrrrrrock on, Tabs. xoxo

  5. Eileen says:

    Awesome. I can so relate to comfort turning into quicksand! So very tempting to stay and sink and give up the struggle to grow and explore life’s possibilities. Excellent post. So thought provoking.

    • SirenaTales says:

      Ah, quicksand–the perfect evocation, Eileen. Thanks so much for weighing in with your abundant wisdom and generosity of spirit! I hope your explorations are providing you much joy and inspiration. xxo

  6. diahannreyes says:

    This takes me back onto my roads already taken where certain doors had to be shut and there is no going back or turning left or right as options have narrowed – and yet there is what can come next from staying the course and trusting that there is always more… xo

    • SirenaTales says:

      Diahann, Love your reminder that as difficult or painful as it may be to shut those doors “…there is what can come next from staying the course and trusting that there is always more.” So helpful to hear this right now–thank you. xox

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

