A Recipe For A Good Day

I was having a bumpy day.  Not earthshatteringly so, but with enough mistakes, misfires and unexpected obstacles that I was getting pretty frustrated.  Spinning my wheels and getting nowhere fast.

Then I suddenly recalled the blazing, highly celebrated advice of Jim Valvano, the late, great basketball coach, which my daughter had introduced me to.

Remember?

To me, there are three things we all should do every day.  We should do this every day of our lives.   Number one is laugh.  You should laugh every day.  Number two is think.  You should spend some time in thought.  And number three is you should have your emotions moved to tears, could be happiness or joy.   But think about it.  If you laugh, you think and you cry, that’s a full day.  That’s a heck of a day.  You do that seven days a week,  you’re going to have something special.”

photo-42

I looked back over my day. Sure enough, I found all three luscious ingredients–laughter, thinking, and tears–that Valvano so insightfully identified as key to crafting a heck of a day… and a heck of a life.  Leading me to feel tremendously grateful.

Funny how with all of the complexities of modern life, these three fundamental human experiences capture and perpetuate a vibrant existence.

Note to self: Make this recipe every day.

 

Photo credit: Bottom–www.davisphoto.smugmug.com

 

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Mindful, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Recipe For A Good Day

  1. ViewPacific says:

    Yay! Here’s to living “a heck of a life!”
    Thanks for finding and sharing that.
    Vincent

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

