Transformation: The Elixir Is Inside Us

When she transformed into a butterfly, the caterpillars spoke not of her beauty, but of her weirdness. They wanted her to change back into what she always had been. But she had wings.”~Dean Jackson

IMG_0785

“You have the opportunity to transform yourself, to make a fresh start.” That’s what an acquaintance said to me a couple of months ago after we had moved from the large suburb we had lived in for over three decades to a small, seaside town.

Of course, I knew we were making a big leap. Still, I hadn’t really considered at length how the move could be a change agent for my identity.  The acquaintance had observed that since no one here knew me, I could start over on who I am.

Wow.

This has gotten me to chew a lot on this notion of transformation, especially as I both look back over a year of dramatic external change and out over the sea of a brand spanking new year. And nothing hammers home the vitality of transformation like the mystical marshlands.

image

IMG_1445

No question: A lot has altered for me and my family. Everything from our physical environment, including the daily, up close and personal meetings with a variety of wildlife, to the shape of our days.

But I’ve also been reminded that as much as major outward changes–like jobs, homes, relationships–can trigger or facilitate inward transmutations, the elixir for metamorphoses lies within us. Those outward changes?  They generally don’t mean a thing for who we are inside, unless we make it so.

Sure, those circumstances in which we find ourselves can discourage us or complicate the transformations we seek to make.  Yet often obstacles are surmountable if we possess the ingredients for a transformation elixir :).

Priceless ingredients like:

1) openness to change

2) movement, any movement, in the direction of the transformation–you know, the journey of a hundred miles begins with a single step….

3) a transformation mentor or pal–someone who will support us and/or join us on a transformation journey

4) visualizing the desired change

5) a role model–someone who has taken a risk and revamped, and whose story fires us up

6) ignoring naysayers!

7) tenacity and courage–big time

8) your great ingredient(s)

photo-42

Move or no, I’ve got some transformation I am going after and some that is just beginning to materialize out of the mists. Transformation can be scary, as we transition and inhabit that “in between” place…and as exciting as all get out.  It’s creative! It’s alchemy!

Got transformation?

 

This entry was posted in Creativity, Inspiration, Soulful, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Transformation: The Elixir Is Inside Us

  1. Lorien says:

    Yes! I’m making 2016 the year of self compassion, so I’ll keep you posted. I started a self-compassion practice in earnest these past few weeks and am noticing changes that are very quiet on the outside but feel very big on the inside. Thanks for your inspiring words friend. I’d love to be a transformation pal as our journeys unfold! ❤

    • SirenaTales says:

      Ah, what a lovely focus for 2016, Lorien! Thanks so much for sharing…and inspiring. Will look forward to hearing about your journey, and, yes! Transformation pals for sure–thank you. Happy New Year to you and yours, xoxo

  2. with love and peace for the New Year, Eddie

  3. Within about six weeks, several profound things happened that changed my life. Several doors closed, which of course means several have opened, I am so ready for change, Floundering here, wondering what is next. I guess I am going to have to be a bit more assertive about what it is that will happen!

    • SirenaTales says:

      Dear Emilie, I definitely empathize with the floundering! Glad to hear that you’ve noticed new space and opportunities opening up–very exciting. Here’s wishing you many inspiring and cool adventures on your path, my friend. As always, thank you so much for sharing and supporting. Happy 2016. Avanti! xoxo

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

