It Matters, We Matter

The man standing next to me taking Jazzercise class today is 92 years old.  He took up Jazzercise a couple of weeks ago.  And rode his bicycle to and from class on this 30-degree morning.

Whoa.

So, when I felt myself dragging a bit during class, I just needed to look to my left to fuel my after burners as I saw him goin’ for the gold.  His eyes glued on the instructor, giving all the new movement his best shot and hanging in there if he fell behind.  Tenacity and inspiration personified.

After class, I ran by the corner market to pick up some milk and vegetables.  As the young woman cashier started to ring up my purchases, I casually asked how she was today. Which led to a conversation about the vegetables…and then to a somewhat lengthy one about the substantial challenges she has been facing lately.

IMG_0304

She obviously needed to give voice to her experience, confiding in me, a total stranger, about her troubles, and ultimate, bittersweet triumph. I slowed down to listen, and encourage.  Her face shone with relief and pleasure when she finished her story.  I admired her strength and success.

As I left the store, I was reminded again of how we so often have no idea of the effect our actions, words, example have on others.  The man in Jazzercise class?  I am pretty certain he was unaware of the sparks he was showering on those around him.  He was simply living life to the hilt.  The boost of his positive example was a bonus.

And while I know my conversation with the cashier may not have been life-changing, I felt as I drove away the full weight of what she had told me.  I hope that our connection helped.  I will probably never know.

image

By 10:00 a.m. the reminder blaring “loud and clear” from the universe:  What we do, and how we do it, matters. Or:

A mountain is composed of tiny grains of earth. The ocean is made up of tiny drops of water. Even so, life is but an endless series of little details, actions, speeches, and thoughts. And the consequences whether good or bad of even the least of them are far-reaching.” – Sivananda

And:  “With every deed you are sowing a seed, though the harvest you may not see.” – Ella Wheeler Wilcox

Peace….

image

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Kindness/Generosity, Mindful, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It Matters, We Matter

  1. Eileen says:

    Wow, thanks. The quote about sowing the seed was a serendipity. I attempted to be a voice of reason and compassion in a political situation and failed miserably this week. But after, kissing my wounds a bit, this morning I wrote my son that I would continue to sow seed and live to fight another day. Thanks so much. Bless you. You matter to me.

  2. Lorien says:

    Gorgeous post Chloe. Thank you for the reminder that life is made up of all of our tiny choices, and even the tiniest among them carry great power. I love the Sivananda quote! And I love the 92 year old man Jazzercising and riding his bike. My hero! ❤

    • SirenaTales says:

      “…life is made up of all of our tiny choices, and even the tiniest among them carry great power….” Thanks for that eloquent encapsulation, Lorien. And for your radiant presence here. I am delighted that you found inspiration in this piece. Rock on, my friend. ❤

  3. This fine story speaks of the ‘seeds’ we do indeed sow every day, everywhere

  4. willow marie says:

    This is inspiring – I think you’ve sowed more seeds than you know through your everyday acts of grace.

  5. maskednative says:

    Sirena, your admiration of the elderly gent dancing was probably felt by him, or certainly landed in his energy field, inspiring him on, and listening to the lady cashier in the market, same again. Touching peoples lives positively, without recognition = back to you ten times over. Bless you.

    • SirenaTales says:

      Oh, thank you for noting this, Teri, because I do believe that we pick up a ton of information/energy from those around us. I so appreciate your kind support, my friend. Hope your adventures are going well. xx

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

