Epic Life

Today, I found that ineffable, transcendent “flow” state or optimal experience taking dance class after classes had been on a 6 week (i.e. seemingly endless) hiatus. Reminding me how enormously potent an experience it is to be fully engaged in pursuing one’s passion. Here’s to passion!

Sirena Tales

Surfing 50 foot waves?  How do you train for that, let alone do it?  As a 16-year-old, no less.

The fam just watched “Chasing Mavericks” again, based on the true story of Jay Moriarity whose bounteous passion fueled his surfing quest. I kept shaking my head in disbelief and awe throughout the movie. Such tremendous courage and spirit!

Despite my incredulity, my soul recognized the familiar impetus for his journey.  Which Jay voices along the lines of: “When I hit that drop, I will know I am alive.”

IMG_0034

Ah, yes!  That’s the vibrancy, and at times, transcendence, I feel when I am dancing.  I’m alive!!

It’s the “flow” state, or optimal experience.  Remember?

It’s when “…a person’s body or mind is stretched to its limits in a voluntary effort to accomplish something difficult and worthwhile….”  as explained and exhaustively researched by genius, Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi in his amazing book, “Flow.”

As…

View original post 129 more words

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Mindful, possibility and expansiveness, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Epic Life

  1. I cannot imagine surfing anything taller than a two foot wave, if that! I have never stretched myself like that in any capacity except when I was studying for the exam to complete my master’s degree!

    • SirenaTales says:

      Emilie, That certainly qualifies as a stretch in my book! I totally agree, though–surfing those enormous waves?! Unbelievable. Thank you so much for your time and input.

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

