A Return To Mermaiding

FullSizeRender-1

My teenaged son recently surprised me with this mermaid wall hanging he crafted out of reclaimed wood.  I was delighted…and then a bit dismayed.

Delighted at his thoughtfulness in creating a gift that is so meaningful a symbol to me. And dismayed to realize I haven’t been heeding sufficiently the mermaid’s urgings.

Remember?

Mermaids call to us to follow our passions, our heart’s desires…even if it means we must venture beyond familiar shores.  Mermaids embody enchantment, spurring us on to have exciting adventures and to savor life’s treasures.

image

Sure, I’ve been pursuing some dreams of late. But I’ve also been playing it safe at times when more courage could have led to greater possibilities and a heartier cultivation of magic.

So, we’ve mounted the three foot wall hanging over the bedroom door.  Where I see this sirena all the time.  Calling to me, as she calls to everyone.  Urging us on to greater vibrancy.  Heroes navigating the ever-changing seas of this life.

Passion will move men beyond themselves, beyond their shortcomings, beyond their failures.”~Joseph Campbell

image

 

This entry was posted in Dance, Inspiration, Nature, possibility and expansiveness, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Return To Mermaiding

  1. Love the mermaid! My old beach trailer that I owned with two femal friends was named Las Sirenas. I need a little sirena Magic here.

    • SirenaTales says:

      I remember reading about your trailer, Emilie, with its magical name. Sending you some Sirena vibe, my friend. Thank you so much for visiting and commenting. xx

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

