On Soaring

 

It probably started a week ago when this tiny, handmade bowl caught my eye on an unexpected detour to a shop on an errand.  The minute I saw the dish, I could feel a swelling of  my spirit, inspired by that serendipitous reminder to soar. Yes!

Then I read the wise, helpful column by gifted life coach, Martha Beck, in October’s “O, The Oprah Magazine” (p.48). Beck urges us to make a to-do list using what she calls “eagle view,” i.e. we are to imagine that we are at the peaceful end of our days looking back over our lifetimes and identifying what we want things to look like from that lofty retrospection.

What do we want both our legacy and our experiences to be?  We’re then encouraged to make daily choices based on how they align with our “eagle view.”

The next morning at breakfast, no sooner had my husband mentioned “eagle view” than a majestic bald eagle swooped by our backyard, soared around the marsh and perched high in a tree opposite our house, visible for all to see.  When we looked at the bird through our powerful scope, s/he turned and looked directly at us for a long time.

Ah, synchronicity!

I realize as I write this that my last post about expansiveness started stirring up and resurrecting my focus on soaring.  When we release ourselves from shackles that weigh us down, that inhibit us, we can move more freely, with ease.   We can let our souls “fly,”  transcending unneeded earthly limitations.

If I’ve learned nothing else from dancing, I now know how exhausting and usually impossible it is to do something we don’t believe we can do.  We don’t think we can jump/turn/fall/feel the music/make it bigger?  Then we won’t be able to.

Either our bodies won’t budge or our minds will present insurmountable obstacles to achieving the dancing in the way and the timing intended.  And with a whole lot of extra effort.

Yes, to “fly, glide, rise,” to embody all we envision and hope for our lives, we need to shed every unnecessary weight and chain–including the unnecessary ones fettering our beliefs and souls.

And then we can soar.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Dance, Inspiration, Kindness/Generosity, possibility and expansiveness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to On Soaring

  1. Lorien says:

    Ah, beautiful! Thanks for sharing your courageous exploration. ❤

  2. I must remember that eagle’s view.

    • SirenaTales says:

      How lovely to see you here, Emilie. I was just thinking of you yesterday when I was looking back at an old post and found one of your kind, insightful comments. Thank you again for your time and support. I hope all is well with you and yours. xx

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

