Got Flexibility?

Flexibility in the sense of “being ready and able to change to adapt to different circumstances.”  Of course, the flexibility of mind and spirit that eases our adaptability appears in tangible form in the body: as suppleness, pliability, pliancy.  The embodied and the intangible versions feed each other.  Here, I want to talk about the latter.

One of the most important life lessons I have learned did indeed come from the dance master I have been studying with.  Yet, it’s a lesson about the flexibility of mind and spirit that has fundamentally shifted my perspective.

Yesterday, I realized yet again how critical to our vitality a pliable approach is.  I am beginning a new performance project and am in the throes of arranging logistics.  There are not a lot of dancers involved, nor numerous dates for rehearsing and performing.

Even with only several dancers and a few dates under consideration, there are already a number of conflicts in people’s busy lives.  I started to throw my hands in the air, feeling the project slipping away in the tide of competing schedules.

But, wait!  Was the course I had set for us the only way to proceed? Of course not.

When I re-focused on how much I want to bring this project to life, I started exploring how else we might work together and came up with an alternate plan that will allow everyone to participate at different times and with different people if we can’t coordinate as originally planned.

Truth be told, I actually prefer the backup arrangement at this point.  It will give us more opportunities to work with the ideas and movement…and with varying dancers.  Exciting!

As I write this, the words I’ve memorized come back to me: “when one way doesn’t work, another will.”  The wisdom of heron spirit animal that is patient, resourceful, tenacious.

My dance mentor/teacher is indeed a master of flexibility.  Her main goal is to facilitate inclusion and the maximum amount of fierce dancing.  She bobs and weaves as needed to  achieve those two laudable aspirations.  Her sublime physical fluidity feeds and reflects her mental/soulful flexibility and vice versa.  A perpetual flow I am aspiring to.

In the meantime, when I encounter rigidity, I just keep asking myself: How can I be flexible here?

Photo credit: Middle-Courtesy of Nikki Carrara © 2016

This entry was posted in Dance, Inspiration, Mindful, possibility and expansiveness, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Got Flexibility?

  1. Love this post on flexibility, Chloe. I am actually dealing with an injury due to hyper mobility…so once again- I am reminded of balance. Which makes me wonder if my over suppleness in mind and spirit could be called back as well. Thanks for sharing. Love seeing you in my feed ❤️

    • SirenaTales says:

      Ah, yes, balance. Thanks so much for coming by and sharing your insight, Elysha. I hope your injury is healing and that you are taking good care of yourself! Heading over to your site this morning :). xoxo

  2. diahannreyes says:

    Hello! Love these pics of yours. I love the wisdom of flexibility that you are offering here. Esp. cuz creativity is such a fluid process. I think in my life my creativity has gotten stumped when I’ve stuck rigidly to how I think what I am creating should become or be. It’s hard for me to let go of my perceived control and allow for the unexpected. Good to read you- I’ve been on a sabbatical I never intended to take- and I think I may be emerging from it finally.

    • SirenaTales says:

      Oh, how lovely to see you here, Diahann! I’ve thought about you often, hoping you were doing well. “Allowing for the unexpected”-what a great way to go. Thank you so much for sharing your insight–I’ve missed it. I, too, have been taking a series of unintended breaks. I hope you whatever you do feeds your soul …and I will now head over to your virtual digs.

      • diahannreyes says:

        It’s so good reconnecting with you, Chloe! And looking forward to catching up. I haven’t returned to my blog yet but hopefully soon. I hope your breaks have been feeding you, too.

Feedback=magic. What's yours?

