Be Mighty

533002_10150920953908224_1792594936_n

I am dancing in my kitchen–preparing to teach class.  Feeling again inexpressibly grateful for another chance to share my passion for dancing, and for the physical and mental ability to move and express the joy of movement and music.

So, what theme calls out to be explored in class?

Being mighty.

I.e.”possessing great and impressive power or strength; ferocious, robust….”

For if we are fortunate enough to have this priceless opportunity to create art together, to feed the world’s soul with movement, passion, exertion, beauty, strength, tenacity, I believe we need to honor that opportunity as generously as possible.

By being prodigious. Colossal.  Tremendous. Radiant. Investigating the extent of our possibilities in whatever form that takes for each of us.

IMG_1213

As challenging as it is in the dance studio to keep my eye on this goal, it is at least as difficult outside the studio (as you probably know :)).   But at least I have the chance to rehearse moving as mightily as possible in the hopes that I can live as mightily as possible after class and rehearsal.

What about a lack of motivation, skill, strength, energy, or on the flip side, the abundance of fatigue, injury, stress, anxiety?  Yup.  They are all there.

No matter.  As long as I want to keep striving for more in myself, asking more of myself, I need to keep showing up.  Feeling grateful for the countless folks in so many spheres who inspire and galvanize me.  Remembering to send energy and affirmation to all who need it.

And then I need to:

IMG_1182

Want to join me?

“….Your playing small does not serve the world.  There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you…. We are all meant to shine, as children do.  It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone.  And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.  As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”~Marianne Williamson

Photo credit top of page: Rich Davis; “Be Mighty” Sweatshirt by t.la (at Anthropologie)

This entry was posted in Inspiration, Kindness/Generosity, Soulful and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Be Mighty

  1. Lorien says:

    Yes! I love this! “Mighty” is such a powerful word…I think about being unabashed, strong, exuberant, powerful. So inspirational, Chloe. Thank you again for a wonderful post and for the reminder that life is meant to be lived to the fullest.

    • SirenaTales says:

      Oooo, love all of your words, too, Lorien! “Unabashed, strong, exuberant, powerful….”–yes! Thank you for the energy boost of your presence, my friend. It means so much to me. Hope life is going swimmingly for you. xxo

  2. Eileen says:

    Be all we can be……I toured Europe 9 times in a wheel chair…….I’ve done stand up comedy at 75 on a walker…….Almost 78, I dance in my heart and in my mind often……………I sometimes dance with words. Even manage a few steps to music in the kitchen.
    I challenge other little old ladies on walkers to races and plan to get a sweat shirt that says: “I can do anything you can do, just a whole lot slower.”

    Love your blog……reminds me to dance however I can

  3. Luggage Lady says:

    Yes, indeed, Ms. Mighty!! And your reach goes so much deeper than you can possibly imagine! Thank YOU for boldly rocking this world with your perseverance — what a fabulous role model you are!! So much love coming your way! 💕

    “Dancing is bigger than the physical body. Think bigger than that. When you extend your arm, it doesn’t stop at the end of your fingers, because you’re dancing bigger than that. You’re dancing spirit.” ~ Judith Jamison

  4. SirenaTales says:

    You never cease to amaze and inspire me, LL. Thank you so very much for your tremendous enthusiasm and incredible support. And WHAT a fabulous quote–I had not known this one before. Leave it to the goddess, Judith Jamison, to state so eloquently my own aspiration and sometimes experience. You are a treasure, my lovely friend. love to you

Feedback=magic. What's yours?